Anything is Possible by Elizabeth Strout

anything is possible

One of my book groups decided to read this for the August meeting after reading This is Lucy Barton last year.  This book is a follow-up to that book since it contains short stories about some of the characters mentioned in the earlier book.  Although Elizabeth Strout is a Pulitzer Prize winner, I’m not a big fan.  In her last book I found a stylistic element she used infuriating, and as a result it really distracted from my enjoyment of the book.  Surprisingly, I found that I did enjoy this one much more than the other two books I’ve read written by her. She didn’t use that annoying stylistic element, and I found the various stories enjoyable and characters interesting.  I also liked the  small town setting for the stories.  I think I might have enjoyed this even more if I remembered more from the earlier book, or if I had just read it.  Kimberly Farr who is an eight-time winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award for narration read this audiobook and was enjoyable to listen to.  If you’ve enjoyed her other books, I’m sure you’ll enjoy this one as well.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Anything is Possible by Elizabeth Strout

  1. I just finished this and enjoyed it. Debating about now reading Lucy Barton as I did not before. Sorry to not have the backgrounds for these stories but enjoyed ‘the moral of the story’ just the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

