I Liked My Life by Abby Fabiaschi

i liked my life

This book sucked me in from the very first sentence, “I found the perfect wife for my husband”. Maddy is dead but stuck in transition after an apparent suicide.  She leaves behind a husband, Brady, and a teenage daughter, Eve.  She is still trying to direct their lives from beyond by putting thoughts in their heads.  I don’t believe a person can direct what happens on earth after they die, but that didn’t take away from the story for me.  I found it to be compelling  and moving as you journey with Brady and Eve as they struggle with trying to understand why she committed suicide and the fallout afterward.  This debut is beautifully written in alternating chapters giving points of view from from the major characters which provided a lot of insight.  The woman she has chosen, Rory, becomes involved in their life and helps them in dealing with their grief.  For a depressing topic of dealing with suicide, it was more uplifting than I expected, and I found this book to be well done .  The character development is excellent, and I can’t describe adequately how touched I was by this book.

Leave a Reply

