Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

Product Details

I recently finished reading Underground Railroad.  Cora is a slave on a Georgia plantation who learns of the Underground Railroad from another slave who has arrived from Virginia. They decide to make a break for it and escape.  The book chronicles the journey and the horrors encountered along the way.  It is always difficult to read about what the slaves suffered through, and this book doesn’t gloss over the atrocities they endured.   It is hard to imagine that men and women can be so cruel to another human being.  The book was a National Book Award winner, and although I did like it, I didn’t like the book as much as thought I would.  I didn’t connect with the main character, and I think it was because of the disjointed way the stories of all the other characters were inserted.  I also wasn’t a big fan of his making the Underground Railroad a real railroad, and didn’t understand the purpose or need for that device.  I would still recommend the book.  It just wasn’t one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

