Be Frank With Me by Julia Claiborne Johnson

This was a charming book I received as an ARC from Edelweiss and read last year.  It is about a reclusive author named Mimi  Banning who is reminiscent of Harper Lee and has decided to write a new novel decades after her bestselling first novel was published. Her publisher is thrilled and sends his assistant, Alice Whitley, to stay at her house to help oversee the writing of the novel and keep it on track.  It turns out, however, that Alice is left to look after Mimi’s smart, eccentric nine-year-old  son, Frank.  Frank is a huge old movie buff, full of movie trivia and facts who loves to dress like the stars of the old movies.  Needless to say, he has a hard time fitting in with the other fourth graders.   I loved the character of Frank, and even though it is hard to believe a child of his age could say the things and think the things he did, I have known a child like that in the past. I loved the humor and the relationship that built with Alice. As a movie lover myself, I also enjoyed all the movie trivia and references.  This heartwarming novel a delight to read.

2 thoughts on “Be Frank With Me by Julia Claiborne Johnson

  1. I read this book when it first came out and enjoyed it very much. We do seem to read a lot of the same books. I do have The Last Painting Of Sara de Vos on my wishlist from the library so I will eventually get to it. I am now using Overdrive and listening to most everything I read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

